Dedicating a book

huggies  I think it’s pretty thrilling to have a book dedicated to you. That happened recently to me – my first ever – I was so fan-girly over it. My pal, Lauri Robinson dedicated one of her recent Harlequin (yes, she writes for them!) Western romance to me, entitled His Wild West Wife. We live in neighboring cities and get together a few times a year for coffee. She was the first real author I met. So cool to get her autograph on her book.

But the point of this blog is not so much the thrill of the dedication itself, but the fact that I’m writing Love on the Airways in memory of a friend and his surviving partner. We’ve never met except in cyberspace, but we were pals for several years. Paul died last November, and that hit me like a ton of bricks. I thought he and Robert would get their happy ending. They did, but it was much too short.

Robert knows, as do others, this book is not their story per se. It’s about two unique people meeting by accident – an odd couple by many standards, and falling hard for each other. Was the journey smooth sailing? Oh heck no. Real people are like this. We fight, we break up,  and if we really love each other, we apologize and keep going. Robert and Paul were like that. I’ve asked Robert to send me their favorite play lists and some other tidbits of information to include in the story. I feel a lot of pressure to write something really special. These two men loved to party, were funny, down to earth, smart, and stubborn. They also faced opposition about their relationship from their families. Those who knew them well, will recognize the nods sprinkled in here and there…and those who don’t will enjoy a great story.

The other thing that preoccupies my mind is the darn weather. We finally ditched the snowbanks and now we’re bracing for a couple inches of slush tomorrow. Good gravy. Not one spring plant yet. The lilacs are just ready to leaf out. A friend said the past three months have been colder and more miserable in Minneapolis than in Siberia. I didn’t find that information uplifting. Maybe it’s time to apply for a visa to a more moderate climate.

I hope the mid-spring days are kinder to you. Thanks for following my blog. If you like what you see, please let me know. I love to hear from readers.

Until the next snowfall…I mean time.

Margie

If you’re looking for a romance that isn’t like those you’ve already read, please stop by my Amazon page. Or, Nook owners can visit me at B&N. Most of my books are available in ebook and print. Ask for an authorgraph at authorgraph.com.

About Margie Church

Margie Church writes erotic romance novels with a strong suspense element, in keeping with her moniker: Romance with SASS (Suspense Angst Seductive Sizzle). Never expect the same thing twice in one of her books. She tackles subjects and conflicts that aren't typical in romances. Life is complicated. People are, too. Marrying those concepts makes her books fascinating. Margie was 2011 GLBT Author of the Year, and her book, Hard as Teak, was named 2011 GLBT Book of the Year at Loves Romances Café. She is well-known for her BDSM erotic romances as well. Margie lives in Minnesota, is married, and has two children. Some of her passions are music, biking, walking on moonlit nights, fishing, and making people laugh.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

