Gilded Destiny Blog Tour with Nola Sarina!

naomiIt’s my pleasure to introduce Nola Sarina, a brand new author and friend of mine. She’s making a splash in the market with her novella, Gilded Destiny, and she’s here today to show it off. Please give a SASSY welcome to the fascinating woman behind this dark tale!

Please tell us a little about yourself.

I’m a stay-at-home mom and I spend a little bit of each day doing a little bit of a million things. I love tattoos and art and I read Tarot cards, and I have always wanted to travel to Italy.

You chose to seek an agent for your first book (The Vesper Series). Describe your reasoning.

I knew that as a newcomer in the industry, I was clueless about many aspects of being a “successful” author. I didn’t want to put a book out through self-publish channels until I understood the industry better and had someone to guide me through the process. Michelle Johnson of Inklings Literary Agency has been amazing for that: patient, even when I’m asking a billion questions.

What do you recommend for any author thinking about finding an agent?

Make sure your manuscript is edited with a fine-toothed comb. I hear plenty of authors using the phrase, “It’s good enough. That’s what editors are for…” when referring to polishing spelling, grammar, and punctuation. But agents have tons of clients, and if you want to snag one, make sure your book doesn’t come across their desk as needing tons of help to be ready for publication.

Aside from that, get involved with other authors, and ask authors who are represented what their experience has been. Most authors are willing to talk about agents and the process of being represented, if you ask.

What inspired Gilded Destiny?

Gilded Destiny really evolved through the writing process, since I was unsure of the main character in the beginning. But as the writing progressed and I got to know this character, I wanted to ask, “How would you love someone if you only had three days to do it?” And later, “What if you realized you’d loved that person much longer than you remembered?”

And, man-eating-half-snakes and trains and darkness. I’ve been writing the world of the Vespers for a number of years now, so the darker elements just kind of flow into the story and the inspiration, for me, is really more about the people and their relationships.

What will readers enjoy about it most?

My hope is for readers to enjoy the depth of emotion, even though the tale is not all bubbles and happiness. I hope the readers will feel a deep connection between the characters as one begins to remember how deeply she loved him before.

I also hope readers will enjoy the new take on old myths, and the way I’ve amped up the darkness of stereotypical immortal predators. I’ve had some positive reactions to this, and some negative, but I expect the negative since I knew it was risky.

How has your life changed since you signed a contract with Michelle Johnson and what does your writing future look like?

Michelle’s representation has opened up a world of doors for me between all of the amazing manuscript requests she’s gotten me from publishers, and the way she’s believed in my work so strongly from day 1. We co-operate a blog with Jamie Bodnar Drowley and Christine Hughes, as well, so the partnership of fiction-with-Biblical-elements we’ve created, which we call Biblical FanFiction, has allowed us to make a lot of new friends, both writers and readers.

Michelle also represents my co-authored paranormal romance Wild Hyacinthe, written with Emily Faith.

Now for some fun! What’s your favorite thing to eat or drink?

Sushi. I could live off the stuff.

You’d never guess that I once….

Balanced atop a bunch of stacked buckets in a pile of mud beneath a bridge trying to reach a geocache. It wasn’t there.

When I die, I want people to say this about me….

She did everything the best she could!

Feather boas or handcuffs?

Handcuffs, please.

What will you do with those handcuffs? Just kidding.  And now – the book!

Final ECover

A woman’s memory returns when she falls in love with the monster who took it from her.

Calli tattoos her skin to fill the holes in her memory, thanks to an accident that left her mind damaged and empty. But a nasty encounter with a fired employee leaves her in the arms of her unlikely savior: Nycholas, a predatory, serpentine Vesper on the run from his brutal master.

Nycholas’ clandestine world holds the secrets to mankind’s origin and survival… but he only wants one thing before his time is up: a few colorful nights with Calli, the fragile, tattooed, human woman he pursued and saved.

The more Calli learns about Nycholas, the more her own darkened memories return to her. Despite her haunted past, she loses herself to passion and desire with her immortal captor.

Now, Calli must overcome the demons of her past, or allow Nycholas to kiss her memories away and spare her the trauma of loving a doomed immortal. But each choice comes with dire consequences – some that endanger not only herself, but her family as well.

Buy Gilded Detiny here!

Nook owners:
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1115283017?ean=2940016700847

Amazon for paperback link (eBook links coming soon):
http://www.amazon.com/Gilded-Destiny-Vesper-Novella-Volume/dp/1484197410/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1368390010&sr=8-1&keywords=gilded+destiny

Find out more about Nola and her upcoming work.

http://www.nolasarina.com

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorNolaSarina

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17563784-gilded-destiny

Thanks so much for being the very first guest on my brand new blog. Best wishes, Nola, with Gilded Destiny and all your future writing projects. I’m so glad we met.

Until the next time,

Margie

About Margie Church

Margie Church writes erotic romance novels with a strong suspense element, in keeping with her moniker: Romance with SASS (Suspense Angst Seductive Sizzle). Never expect the same thing twice in one of her books. She tackles subjects and conflicts that aren't typical in romances. Life is complicated. People are, too. Marrying those concepts makes her books fascinating. Margie was 2011 GLBT Author of the Year, and her book, Hard as Teak, was named 2011 GLBT Book of the Year at Loves Romances Café. She is well-known for her BDSM erotic romances as well. Margie lives in Minnesota, is married, and has two children. Some of her passions are music, biking, walking on moonlit nights, fishing, and making people laugh.
This entry was posted in guest authors and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

