An evening with…

destinyTwo weeks from tonight, I’ll be the subject of a two-hour event in the heart of the BWCAW. My hometown of Ely, Minnesota, sure has made me feel welcome to share my books and insights with their community. They host me in a new summer event simply called An Evening With…

There isn’t any AV in the room, so I hope I’ll be entertaining.  Anyone with an interest in writing and/or romances could be there. I’ve prepared an outline, and plan to talk about the business of writing and publishing. I’ll also share some personal experiences I hope readers and authors will enjoy. There will be time for questions and conversation, too.

Remember a couple weeks ago I said that writing the book is only a small part of being an author? Well, here’s another great example of opportunities authors might take advantage of. I’ve contacted the local radio station to see if they’ll do an interview, and I’ll be bringing print books to sell. The whole night could be a total bust, you know? There’s that stigma of being a romance author…will she show up in a negligee? Is she a crazy ditz? Is my husband safe around her? These assumptions make me laugh, but they aren’t atypical reactions. So, could be me and the crickets – oh and my sister-in-law. She goes everywhere with me up there.  Sure I’m nervous, but it could turn out to be a lot of fun. The paper has mentioned the event several times, they printed bookmarks and have they at the Chamber of Commerce, and next week they’ll run an article. Hopefully WELY will grant me an interview. I can’t tap dance. They aren’t serving booze. I’d better be fascinating.

pioneer_mine

Photo courtesy Ely Greenstone.org

The room I’m speaking in is in the Miner’s Dry House. This is where the men who worked the underground iron ore mine would enter and leave. My father walked through this building for years when he was a young man. The mine officially closed in 1967 when it collapsed. I saw that metal structure almost every day of my life until I was in my early twenties. We sledded down a huge hill opposite the site when I was a kid.

I wonder what my dad would think of the things I’ve done with my writing career. The advertising part he’d be okay with. I’m pretty darn sure he’d never understand the gay books. Or the interracial ones. Or the menage… Maybe I’d just show him the nursery rhyme. He’d have liked that. Ha!

Anyway, the speaking engagement follows my class reunion. (Yes, I’m old enough to have graduated high school.) It’s going to be a long weekend packed with conversations and memories. My husband and I are looking forward to that and some time away from our keyboards. If you’re in Ely on July 8, stop in the Dry House at 7 p.m. I’ll be the guest speaker and I’d love to meet you.

Until the next time,

Margie

Find all my books on Amazon and Barns & Noble.

About Margie Church

Margie Church writes erotic romance novels with a strong suspense element, in keeping with her moniker: Romance with SASS (Suspense Angst Seductive Sizzle). Never expect the same thing twice in one of her books. She tackles subjects and conflicts that aren't typical in romances. Life is complicated. People are, too. Marrying those concepts makes her books fascinating. Margie was 2011 GLBT Author of the Year, and her book, Hard as Teak, was named 2011 GLBT Book of the Year at Loves Romances Café. She is well-known for her BDSM erotic romances as well. Margie lives in Minnesota, is married, and has two children. Some of her passions are music, biking, walking on moonlit nights, fishing, and making people laugh.
This entry was posted in Margie's Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

