Green Acres

Anim_HomepageRemember that old television show where city meets country? My life has those contrasts. I am the city girl, and I married an outdoors guy who loves everything to do with the woods and hunting, not a farmer. I grew up at the end of the road, in the middle of nowhere. People ask if I used to spend a lot of time camping in the Boundary Waters. I’d look at them like they were nuts and say, “What for? I have a perfectly good bed right in town.”

To be fair, by the time I was old enough to go hunting/fishing/camping in the BWCAW, my father wasn’t in any kind of shape to take us. My mother grew up in Europe. White gloves that went to her elbows, and long gowns for the opera were part and parcel of her life back then. Her idea of camping has become mine…a hotel without room service is roughing it.

7 8 2012Please don’t think I don’t appreciate Minnesota’s forests or pristine lakes. Quite the opposite. During the day, I love floating on the lakes and dropping a line. (Yes, I caught that beautiful walleye, but I’m not touching it.) Pick blueberries with me. Take a walk during hunting season and scare up a couple grouse.

But when night falls, there had better be more between me and the forest creatures than something I assembled.

Chicken, you say? Absolutely. I’ve been through the 7-step program. and own my fears, as irrational as they sometimes are. I’ve awakened my husband to walk me to the outhouse at night…leaving my plump babies as bear bait. I never peed so fast in my life. I’ve had black bears walk under my cabin window. No big deal except they were tall enough to see their backs as they brushed the wall, too.

July 2013Last week, we rented a cabin built into the side of a hill. There were plenty of cabins around ours. I sat on the edge of the dock and splashed my feet in the water. I loved the haunting sounds of the loons, caws of the gigantic ravens, and fluttering tweeties. We must have seen a dozen deer. So beautiful, relaxing.

And then night arrived. The southeast wind blew the water against the dock and shoreline in such a fashion to create the sound of running water. I stared at the ceiling. The loons’ plaintive cry invited the wolves to start singing. I closed the window a little more. The window next to our bed was at ground level. I heard a twig crack. And another. It wouldn’t have taken anything for a bear or a person to get through that window. I stared at the window until finally I dropped off to sleep.

Obviously nothing bad happened. I’m here. Alive and well. And certain that if ever I write that magical book that earns me a cool million, we’ll buy a cabin on the lake. And at night, we’ll light up the property enough for satellites to be able to spot us.

Do you have a wilderness fear? Share your story. I promise not to laugh –  at you.

Until the next time,

Margie

Pack your Nook or Kindle to take my books on vacations, too. I have most of my books in print. They are very reasonably priced. I’d love to send you an autographed copy. Thanks so much.

About Margie Church

Margie Church writes erotic romance novels with a strong suspense element, in keeping with her moniker: Romance with SASS (Suspense Angst Seductive Sizzle). Never expect the same thing twice in one of her books. She tackles subjects and conflicts that aren't typical in romances. Life is complicated. People are, too. Marrying those concepts makes her books fascinating. Margie was 2011 GLBT Author of the Year, and her book, Hard as Teak, was named 2011 GLBT Book of the Year at Loves Romances Café. She is well-known for her BDSM erotic romances as well. Margie lives in Minnesota, is married, and has two children. Some of her passions are music, biking, walking on moonlit nights, fishing, and making people laugh.
This entry was posted in Margie's Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Green Acres

  1. Ah Margie,
    I love your post. Not everybody has had the experience camping from early age, and learned to enjoy it. Sometimes it’s just not your thing….and there is nothing wrong with that.
    I lived 25 years in Greenacres Washington just a few miles east of Spokane. Stay on I-90 and you’re there in 15-20 minutes. Only I never used the freeway if I could help it….lol. I was the backroad queen of Spokane, Spokane Valley and Greenacres.
    I grew up camping in every weather condition imaginable. From the state of Washington, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, British Columbia Canada, Alberta Canada and throughout Alaska.
    I’ve had the wonderful experience and exposure to all kinds of wildlife. It has never been a scary experience with any animal..I love it! But the scariest experiences have always been with fellow campers….lol. We would camp during Memorial Day weekends through the years with a large group of friends and their children. The count has been up to about 60 people or more. I was always the babysitter of the group. But never for the children. No..no..no. It was looking after the adults! OMG! I’ve wrangle more grownups under the influence so many times that I became an expert of the experience….lol. You cannot imagine what grown adults will do when they over drink, and suddenly become worse than children. I’ve tackled a male friend of ours when he suddenly decided that the bonfire just wasn’t big enough and he ran down the beach with a gallon can of white gas. After I knocked him to the ground and wrestle the gas can from Bert he sat on the sand and giggled like a madman. I’ve been the camp nurse treating many a male friends for injuries obtained when 4-wheeling, and that includes wrapping ribs, picking gravel and rocks out of knees, feet, elbows backs, and last but not least their butts….lol.
    Perhaps I’ve over shared…but the memories are truly memorable to say the least.
    Alas, I have never been up close with a wolf in the wild. Not for the lack of trying. Nut I did have wonderful experience in 2000 with a wolf pack in central Idaho that touched my soul so much I still can be brought to tears remembering it.
    Thanks Margie for sharing, and letting me share as well. I hope you made you laugh as it still gets me a giggling now and then think about those silly guys, and their antics..

    • Glad it was a good trip down memory lane, Pomma. Years ago we used to tent camp, but I usually had some alcoholic sleeping aid so I didn’t worry about the critters…and I didn’t have children. I do remember once being in a tent during a nasty storm. The sensation of my hair standing on end awakened me. Too close for comfort. I’d prefer to know where the fire escape is. 🙂 The wolves are magnificent – my high school mascot. I just can’t sleep knowing I’m in their territory and there are a lot of them there!

Leave a Reply

