Welcome, Kay Glass!

kay glassFacebook is a great place for me to make new friends. Kay Glass has become one of those people. It is with great pleasure that I introduce to you a wonderful woman who is an equally wonderful author. Let’s get to know her!

Do your characters speak to you? My characters definitely speak to me! Often in shouts, actually, demanding to get their way. And that’s usually for the best- when I listen, the work turns out better.

Are you a plotter or a pantser, and why? A mix of both, actually. I jot down a few random ideas on what I’d like to see happen in the story, but for the most part I just sit down and type.

Do you have to get in the mood to write a love scene? I do have to have the urge to write the scenes. If I’m not feeling well, or I’m too stressed out, I find the scenes are usually lifeless. So when things are feeling right for me, I sit down and let that side of me loose.

How big was your first royalty check? My first check was for $130, and I remember sobbing, grinning ear to ear. I didn’t expect anyone to care, and I was so excited to find that people actually enjoyed the writing. I’d have kept writing even if no one bought a single copy, but that large start helped motivate me to keep going.

Do you mentor other authors and if so, how? I guess you could call it that! I always invite new writers to message me on FB or email me anytime. I’m willing to answer any questions, no matter how big or small, and if I don’t know the answer, I have a bunch of author friends who have been doing this much longer than me who can help. I also proofread for some authors, or just beta read, and I’m always willing to help them out if they hit a road block in their own writing. Plus, of course, sharing their links often when they first publish.

1081851_408350032618428_609756482_nDescribe your writing year so far,and what’s on the horizon. I’m writing a zombie apocalypse story now as Kay Glass. It’s entitled ‘Survival Instinct’ and the lead character, Nadine, is a morgue tech on the run from the undead as well as the government- she knows too much, and they want her disposed of. She’s pregnant and alone, and fighting for her life every step of the way. I’m also writing ‘Take Me,’ an erotic romance under the name Kendra Glenn. It’s about a woman and man who begin a one-night stand and turn it into more. Lots of sex scenes, lots of angst, and a happily ever after, because they make me smile.

What’s your favorite movie? What Dreams May Come, with Robin Williams and Cuba Gooding Jr. I can quote it nearly beginning to end.

What do friends and family think of your books? My friends are very supportive, and read all I write.  My husband has been my biggest supporter, cheering me on and encouraging me to stay home and write rather than work outside the home. It’s a big sacrifice, and it means a lot. My mom is proud of me, and reads most of my work- the exception, of course, being my erotica. That would be a bit awkward. *LOL*

1080768_408350002618431_849071379_nDo you use your personal sex life as fodder for your books? *laughs* Oh, absolutely!  And my husband never minds being my prop for future scenes! It’s win-win.

You’re in the Miss World pageant. They ask the big question, “If I become Miss World, I want to  . . . .” I want to start a no-kill animal sanctuary, for all manner of animals, and help our military veterans- I’d want to staff the sanctuary entirely with veterans, provide housing for them as well as needed, so they have shelter as well as work when they return home.

Okay, Kay, you outsold me by a landslide. I think my first royalty check was under $20. I’m also NEVER going to publicly admit that my sex life is fodder for my books. My husband says he’s taught me everything I know. *cough* Anyway, readers, there are lots of ways to get Kay’s book and get to know her better.

Bio: Kay Glass is the author of the Just One Bite series, Puppet of the Fates, and a variety of short stories. She also writes and publishes under the pen name Kendra Glenn. Kay lives in Delaware with her husband, their two children, and a variety of beloved pets. When she’s not writing, she can be found reading, swimming, playing video games and spending time with her family.

Get to know Kay and find her books here:

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/author/kayglass

http://www.amazon.com/author/kendraglenn

FaceBook:

http://www.facebook.com/KayGlassAuthor

http://www.facebook.com/KendraGlennAuthor

Blog:

http://www.kayglassauthor.wordpress.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/kglass112406

Sample a free book! Teach Me, My Love- Part One: Dessert is always free on Amazon!  http://www.amazon.com/Teach-Love–Part-One-ebook/dp/B008MAJ38K/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1374251110&sr=1-2&keywords=teach+me%2C+my+love

About Margie Church

Margie Church writes erotic romance novels with a strong suspense element, in keeping with her moniker: Romance with SASS (Suspense Angst Seductive Sizzle). Never expect the same thing twice in one of her books. She tackles subjects and conflicts that aren't typical in romances. Life is complicated. People are, too. Marrying those concepts makes her books fascinating. Margie was 2011 GLBT Author of the Year, and her book, Hard as Teak, was named 2011 GLBT Book of the Year at Loves Romances Café. She is well-known for her BDSM erotic romances as well. Margie lives in Minnesota, is married, and has two children. Some of her passions are music, biking, walking on moonlit nights, fishing, and making people laugh.
This entry was posted in guest authors and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome, Kay Glass!

  1. Thank you so much for the wonderful interview, Margie! I had a blast!

Leave a Reply

