Giant steps forward

autumn

 

November will be an exciting month for me. It marks a new beginning in my writing career that looks dramatically different than it has.

 

 

The Poet's Wife by Margie Church - FB banner

The Poet’s Wife will be out November 11. I’m eager to see whether placing this book in its proper category on the market – women’s fiction – will propel it to the high readership numbers it deserves. I extend my heartfelt thanks to Tirgearr Publishing, Kemberly Shortland, publisher, and Maudeen Wachsmith, editor, for their unbridled enthusiasm for this wonderful story. I’m looking forward to reaching a brand new audience through different distribution systems that Tirgearr offers.I love this publisher’s professionalism and the wonderful support their authors give each other. I’ll be having a week-long blog tour for The Poet’s Wife at several Tirgearr authors’ blogs. The poet in this book, J. Andrew Lockhart, will join me with some new haiku, too. You’ll have a few chances to win The Poet’s Wife the week of Nov. 11. Watch my blog, Facebook, and Twitter for the locations. (Some of you will recognize this book as Nopeming Shores. With the closure of Noble Romance, I received my rights back to this book as well as six others.)

I’m also thrilled to announce that Ellora’s Cave has extended contract offers to re-publish Hard as Teak and Krewe Daddy. I’ve been working with their Editor-in-Chief Kelli Collins for the past few months, and we’re finally moving forward with these amazing MM romances. Hard as Teak will now be titled The Camera Never Lies; Krewe Daddy becomes Coming Back for Drew. There are some planned revisions to The Camera Never Lies. I’m eager to be associated with a publishing powerhouse such as Ellora’s Cave. They have a massive following that I hope will enjoy these fabulous books, and working with an editor of Kelli’s caliber is a challenge I welcome. Despite these books being previously published, there is always room for improvement and opportunities to find new readers. Kelli is also reading my vampire series Love Bites and Dangerous Love. I should hear by mid-month whether these books also fit into Ellora’s Cave’s roles.

The-18th-Floor-extended versionThe enhanced version of The 18th Floor came out late last month from Sizzler Editions. I’m expecting WET to be re-released by Sizzler late this month…on my birthday, in fact. The new cover hasn’t been sent yet. I know it’ll be hard to beat that sexy butt cover, but Sizzler hasn’t disappointed me yet. In addition, the short-story sequel has been included in the re-release for a bonus to readers.

The cover art information for Deep Enough to Bleed and the blurb have been submitted and approved at Tirgearr. This book won’t come out until early February, but I can hardly wait. I’ve been working on Deep Enough to Bleed for a year. The path was rife with numerous rejections and revisions to bring it to where it is. Once again, I’m very proud that Tirgearr didn’t hesitate to snap up this New Adult novel. It has a lot of difficult issues and it’s not a true romance, but that didn’t stop them. Here’s the blurb:

Deep Enough to Bleed, a New Adult novel by Margie Church

Orphaned on the brink of adulthood, Jolene must make decisions for herself and her younger, disabled brother, Adam. Decisions as painful as the blows they suffered at their father’s hands. Cutting herself is the only thing making Jolene feel something besides misery and worthlessness.

Jolene has never dated, yet quickly recognizes Brendan is a great guy. She wants a serious and intimate relationship, but is scared to trust him with the truth. Will he think she’s a freak if he learns of her secret compulsion? Will hearing about the horrible events from her past make him run?

I expect to get cover art this month.

With the exception of Deep Enough to Bleed, these books are re-releases. Many of you might wonder why I bother to put this much effort into books that have been on the market for a couple of years. First, of course, is that they represent me and my work ethic. I can’t pretend I didn’t spend years writing them just because Noble tanked. Several of these books have been best sellers and to have companies I respect come to ask for them is humbling. It proves they should still be available.

MNGPI know many authors who  juggle a full time regular job, a family, and their writing career. As you may know, I recently returned to full-time day job. It wasn’t a decision I accepted lightly. I don’t want to sound like a martyr, but it came at great sacrifice to me. But, my family needed this income. So, I am at the Monticello Nuclear Generating Plant Monday through Friday. I like this job. It has great variety and significant challenges. It forces me to use skills I haven’t in quite a while. It’s a totally different setting and culture than I’ve ever experienced. The feedback I’m getting is positive, and that’s important since I’m a contractor. I’m not looking forward to the half-mile trek into the office over the winter months. The photo was taken at sunrise about a month ago as I entered the property.

I am writing new words every week. I wish I could say every day, but that would be a lie. There’s a tremendous amount of work that must be done to get books to market and establish relationships with new publishers. When Noble closed, I also lost all that royalty income. Repairing my back list has to be my priority. I must be patient with myself and my situation, but I’m optimistic that I’ll get my running legs again soon. I am determined to finish Love on the Airwaves as quickly as possible. That book means so much to me, and it has suffered greatly while I tended to other obligations. Oh, and I must sleep. And get a weekly manicure. Sadly, I’ve had to postpone starting the final book in the Razor trilogy. It wouldn’t be fair to my writing partner, K.B. Cutter, to let him think I could actually add that to my plate right now, especially with his night-shift work schedule. Love’s Reflection means a lot to both of us, and we enjoy working together. Once I’ve finished Love on the Airwaves, it can be my next new writing project.

I apologize for the length of this blog. Obviously, I had a lot to say, and I hope you will share my excitement over the coming events. If you haven’t read these books, please do. They make great gifts, too!

I hope your autumn is brilliant. Until the next time,

Margie

Find my books on Amazon.

About Margie Church

Margie Church writes erotic romance novels with a strong suspense element, in keeping with her moniker: Romance with SASS (Suspense Angst Seductive Sizzle). Never expect the same thing twice in one of her books. She tackles subjects and conflicts that aren't typical in romances. Life is complicated. People are, too. Marrying those concepts makes her books fascinating. Margie was 2011 GLBT Author of the Year, and her book, Hard as Teak, was named 2011 GLBT Book of the Year at Loves Romances Café. She is well-known for her BDSM erotic romances as well. Margie lives in Minnesota, is married, and has two children. Some of her passions are music, biking, walking on moonlit nights, fishing, and making people laugh.
This entry was posted in Margie's Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giant steps forward

  1. Yes, Brita, several of us are working our butts off on these do-overs that I sincerely hope will be wildly successful for us all. Best wishes to you, too, my talented friend. Yes, winter is coming, but that’s okay. I enjoy the season.

  2. Brita Addams says:

    I wish you the very best, my friend. Reworking the backlist is a pain, I know, as I’m doing it to, amid trying to get out some new stories. Each in their own time, I keep telling myself.

    I hope your stories reach the heights they deserve.

    Hugs and bundle up, winter’s coming!

    B.

Leave a Reply

