Welcome 2014

happy-new-year-2014

Anyone who tried to convince me that 2013 would be my lucky year would only be half right. I got a new job – which I like very much and needed – and I landed some terrific new publishers toward the end of the year. The rest pretty much sucked. So 2013, don’t the door hit you in the ass on your way out.

sick

Hopefully you don’t look like this character today. I’m a fan of bourbon and whiskey, and I’ve spent a few New Year’s Days looking this way. I always read the hangover cures with great interest. Nothing really has ever worked for me except don’t get blasted in the first place. The other day I read an article that pretty much said water, aspirin, don’t mix booze, and all that home remedy stuff really doesn’t work. You’re gonna suffer. I once had a hangover until Tuesday from Maker’s Mark, so don’t think I’m going all sanctimonious on ya. And it wasn’t THAT many years ago. Haven’t done it since. 

I’m grilling some steaks today. It’s below zero here and the forecast is that we will appreciate these temps next week, cuz it’s going to get worse. Argh. I start my car in the garage and everything squeals. My low tire pressure warning stays on until I’ve driven a few miles at highway speeds. The frostbite around my left eye is healing. Yeah, IT’S FREAKIN COLD IN MINNEAPOLIS. And even colder in my hometown, where I think the Earth is just going to crack. -23 yesterday. We had a balmy -18. Oy.

I’ve got a bit of a break until The Camera Never Lies (Q1 2014 Ellora’s Cave) and Deep Enough to Bleed (March 28 Tirgearr Publishing) come to me for editing. I’m scrambling to squeeze in writing time on Love on the Airwaves and get it wrapped up. I have three big scenes left to write – including a very erotic New Year’s weekend for Stiegen and Drew that coincidentally, I’m right in the middle of. Three scenes doesn’t seem like much, but weaving them together and getting them down is probably going to be another 20,000 words. Before the new job, I could have slammed that out in a couple weeks. Now, I move slower, but I’m making progress. I have great affection for these two men. Porter struggles for acceptance for being gay. Stiegen struggles with trust issues. Recently, I’ve started thinking about changing the book title. It doesn’t have the punch to it that I want. When I write the dreaded synopsis and blurb, I’m going to focus on that.

I’m very anxious to see the cover for Deep Enough to Bleed. It’s New Adult fiction with some great romantic elements. It’s urban, gritty, and still enormously uplifting. If any authors reading along want to host me for that release, please let me know. I’ve been chewing my nails about this story for more than a year. I feel like it’s a breakout book for me. It’s quite different from the other books I’ve written. Some of those ventures have been very successful for me; others, not so much. I’m very appreciative of Tirgearr’s willingness to publish Jolene’s powerful story.

This weekend we’re having my family Christmas celebration and that’ll wind up my holiday season. I look forward to this event since many of my past Christmases didn’t include these people. Having most of us together is proof that people can change. We’ll eat too much, drink a little whiskey, share presents (there’s always lots of those!!), and catch up. And on Sunday, I’m not doing anything I don’t want to. 

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions. God love ya if you do and can stick to them. Never been my strength. So, I’ll end this post with best wishes for a healthy, happy and prosperous year. Thanks so much for supporting my writing career .This world is hard. We’re all on a tough journey, so spread a little kindness when you can.

Talk to you soon,

Love,

Margie

Find all my books on Amazon, and select titles on Barns & Noble, Sony, and Smashwords.

About Margie Church

Margie Church writes erotic romance novels with a strong suspense element, in keeping with her moniker: Romance with SASS (Suspense Angst Seductive Sizzle). Never expect the same thing twice in one of her books. She tackles subjects and conflicts that aren't typical in romances. Life is complicated. People are, too. Marrying those concepts makes her books fascinating. Margie was 2011 GLBT Author of the Year, and her book, Hard as Teak, was named 2011 GLBT Book of the Year at Loves Romances Café. She is well-known for her BDSM erotic romances as well. Margie lives in Minnesota, is married, and has two children. Some of her passions are music, biking, walking on moonlit nights, fishing, and making people laugh.
This entry was posted in Margie's Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome 2014

  1. Andrea M says:

    I am SOOOO glad to see that we’ll have new M/M books from you this year. Hard as Teak and Krewe Daddy were fantastic and I can’t wait for more of your writing.

    • Andrea, thank you so much for your support and enthusiasm. I’m glad you’ve enjoyed my past work. Teak and Krewe Daddy will be back out soon under new titles from Ellora’s Cave – and I hope many more M/M romance lovers will find them. I hope you’ve read Executive Decision! That’ll keep my smiling for a little while longer. It’s always great to hear from you. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

