“Write what you know”

That’s the coaching authors get about storytelling. It works to a large extent when you’re new in the craft.  As you mature you learn to research subjects and become more adventurous.

But tidbits of the author are always present in the story. Whether it’s a key trait of the hero/heroine, the setting, a goal, career, sexual orientation, a habit, a phrase – the author is somewhere in the story.

Deep Enough To Bleed by Margie Church - 500So where am “I” in Deep Enough to Bleed? I think the scrapper in me is my biggest contribution to Jolene’s character. Although my childhood wasn’t Jolene’s, it was tough. We lived in a house I called “the barn” and I never invited friends over. My folks worked their fingers to the bone and we were very poor. My father retired at an annual salary of $12,000, on which eight of us had to live. I was ashamed of how threadbare everything was. I guess my saving grace was that most of the kids I hung out with were no better off. I learned to look up, to want more and work hard to get it. Nothing is free or easy in my life. I gave that tenacity to Jolene.

To say her childhood was a disaster is an understatement. I would be disingenuous to her character to say she just chucked all that bad stuff into a cerebral closet and lived happily ever after. Jolene started cutting herself to cope with her family problems. The crutch and scars aren’t going away quickly. She’s also adept at skirting the truth about her family and living situation. Learning to trust others isn’t something a person like her could just wake up one morning and decide to do. It’s scary as hell for her. However, when the choice is hers to make, she chooses to make a difference in this world rather than be a boil on the rear end of society.

A brand new book makes my heart soar. Deep Enough to Bleed took more time to write and revise, got more rejections and involved more editors than any book I’ve written. It’s my 18th adult novel. I just couldn’t give up on this story. Like the woman it’s dedicated to, it was worth the wait. I hope you’ll agree.

Deep Enough to Bleed, by Margie Church

Orphaned on the brink of adulthood, Jolene must make decisions for herself and her younger, disabled brother, Adam. Decisions as painful as the blows they suffered at their father’s hands. Cutting herself is the only thing making Jolene feel something besides misery and worthlessness.

Jolene has never dated, yet quickly recognizes Brendan is a great guy. She wants a serious and intimate relationship, but is scared to trust him with the truth. Will he think she’s a freak if he learns of her secret compulsion? Will hearing about the horrible events from her past make him run?

Buy it March 28 on Amazon and Smashwords.

Until the next time,

Margie

Find all my books on Amazon.

About Margie Church

Margie Church writes erotic romance novels with a strong suspense element, in keeping with her moniker: Romance with SASS (Suspense Angst Seductive Sizzle). Never expect the same thing twice in one of her books. She tackles subjects and conflicts that aren't typical in romances. Life is complicated. People are, too. Marrying those concepts makes her books fascinating. Margie was 2011 GLBT Author of the Year, and her book, Hard as Teak, was named 2011 GLBT Book of the Year at Loves Romances Café. She is well-known for her BDSM erotic romances as well. Margie lives in Minnesota, is married, and has two children. Some of her passions are music, biking, walking on moonlit nights, fishing, and making people laugh.
This entry was posted in Margie's Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

