Manufactured holiday?

my heart 1On a day that celebrates love, many scoff at the manufactured, capitalist holiday, saying they don’t need a holiday to demonstrate their love.

When I hear that, I automatically think their spouse, lover, or partner must be a lucky person. They are so regularly showered with words and acts of love they don’t need that February 14 boost at all.

Then there’s the rest of us who curse the chores of life, the demands loving obligations bring. I can’t say I’ve thanked my lucky stars as I’ve cleaned up mud-caked floors and listened to the grumblings over a dinner they don’t particularly like. Again.

snoopy hugsMy husband and I always kiss each other goodbye. We don’t care who’s watching. We say, “I love you,” every time we leave each other and at the end of a phone call. We make time for each other. It takes a lot of energy to keep up those loving feelings year after year – sometimes day after day during a particularly rough patch. I probably could say we don’t need Valentine’s Day to show affection or be reminded of it. But I think it’s a day to do something extra and if you haven’t done much lately, maybe it’s the day you begin again or try harder. And if you’re a single person, spoil your pet, the neighbor, your grandparent, a neighbor child a little bit. Bring something homemade, give a compliment, offer a helping hand.

If I’ve learned anything in the past few months its that those we love can be gone in an instant. The ferocious pain of those losses has blistered my heart. More will come, yes, but this Valentine’s Day for me is more about trying to minimize the regrets.

Think about it.

Thanks for spending time with me today.

Margie

If you believe in love and romance, please check out my books.

About Margie Church

Margie Church writes erotic romance novels with a strong suspense element, in keeping with her moniker: Romance with SASS (Suspense Angst Seductive Sizzle). Never expect the same thing twice in one of her books. She tackles subjects and conflicts that aren't typical in romances. Life is complicated. People are, too. Marrying those concepts makes her books fascinating. Margie was 2011 GLBT Author of the Year, and her book, Hard as Teak, was named 2011 GLBT Book of the Year at Loves Romances Café. She is well-known for her BDSM erotic romances as well. Margie lives in Minnesota, is married, and has two children. Some of her passions are music, biking, walking on moonlit nights, fishing, and making people laugh.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

